Winter Sports

Serwa leads Canada to three medals at freestyle World Cup

The Canadian Press
2/19/2013 10:07:13 AM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

SOCHI, Russia -- Kelsey Serwa of Kelowna, B.C., led a 1-2 Canadian finish at a women's World Cup skicross event Tuesday.

Marielle Thompson of Whistler, B.C., was second while Montreal's Chris Del Bosco captured silver on the men's side.

Serwa overtook overall women's leader Fanny Smith early in the race to win her second title of the season on the same course that will be used during next year's Sochi Olympics.

Victor Oehling Norbert of Sweden won the men's gold, edging Del Bosco in his first race of the season following an injury.

Germany's Andreas Schauer was third.

Alex Fiva leads the standings with 474 points after eight of 12 races this season. Fellow Swiss skier Armin Niederer is second with 429 points, while Tomas Kraus of the Czech Republic has 322 for third.

Smith tops the women's discipline with 476 points. Ophelie David of France is second with 416 points and Serwa is third with 401.

The event was the last of the test events for freestyle skiing and snowboarding at the Roza Khutor Extreme Park.

The competitions were marred by mild weather, which brought a mixture of heavy snowfalls and rain, forcing organizers to cancel the slopestyle and parallel slalom events. The qualification for the skicross event was rescheduled to early Tuesday because of heavy snowfall on Monday.

The skiers struggled on a tough course. Florian Eigler fell and crashed into the safety net in the men's first round, while fellow German Sabina Weilharter landed hard off a last jump near the finish in the women's quarter-finals. There were no immediate details on their injuries.

The next Word Cup skicross event is scheduled for Feb. 24 in Harrachov, Czech Republic.

Thompson and Serwa (Photo: The Canadian Press)


(Photo: The Canadian Press)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

© 2017
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television