Summer Sports

Brown wins men's 100m at Canadian track championships

The Canadian Press
6/23/2013 1:30:37 AM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

CALGARY -- Toronto's Aaron Brown won the men's 100-metre race in a close final at the Canadian track and field championships on Saturday.

Brown's time of 10.25 seconds topped Calgary's Sam Effah by 0.08 seconds as both men qualified for Canada's world championship team.

In the women's 100 metres, Toronto's Crystal Emmanuel won in a time of 11.48 seconds over Kimberley Hyacinthe of Lachenaie, Que., (11.55 seconds) and Shai-Anne Davis of Richmond, Ont., (11.61 seconds).

The top-3 finishers in the men's race walk also qualified for the world championships, which take place in August in Moscow. Vancouver's Inaki Gomez was first in the 10-kilometre event with a time of 40 minutes one second. Evan Dunfee of Richmond, B.C., was second in 40:19, while Benjamin Thorne of Kitimat, B.C., was third in 41:07.

In the women's 1500 metres, Kate Van Buskirk of Brampton, Ont., won with a time of 4:16.45, just ahead of Winnipeg's Nicole Sifuentes (4:16.84) and Sheila Reid (4:17.11) of Newmarket, Ont. All three qualified for Moscow.

Meanwhile, Tim Nedow of Brockville, Ont., won the men's discus throw with a mark of 55.35 metres. The discus win was his second national title in as many days after winning the shot put on Friday.

Toronto's Shawnacy Barber, Derek Drouin of Corunna, Ont., Michael Mason of Nanoose Bay, B.C., and Brianne Theisen of Humboldt, Sask., all entered the event with world championship 'A' standards and needed top-3 finishes to qualify for Moscow.

Drouin won the men's high jump with a showing of 2.31 metres, while Mason was second after clearing 2.28 metres. Barber cleared 5.40 metres in the pole vault, and Theisen took the Canadian title in the heptathlon with 6399 points as all four qualified for the worlds.

Canadian Flag (Photo: JEFF HAYNES/AFP/Getty Images)


(Photo: JEFF HAYNES/AFP/Getty Images)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

© 2016
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television