Vancouver Canucks forward Jannik Hansen had a hearing with league officials on Wednesday for his hit on Marian Hossa of the Chicago Blackhawks on Tuesday night.
Hossa, who was reaching for the puck high in the air, had to be helped off the ice during the third period following a forearm to the back of the head from Hansen.
"It wasn't even a penalty," Canucks head coach Alain Vigneault said after the game. "Both referees looked at the play. Until (Blackhawks forward Jonathan) Toews went out to talk to them, it wasn't even a penalty."
"I think everybody saw it," said Blackhawks head coach Joel Quenneville. "Everybody can have their own opinion. So we'll let the people who do that stuff do their job."
Hansen has never been suspended during his NHL career but he was suspended at last year's World Hockey Championship.
The Danish forward was handed a one-game suspension for a hit from behind during a game against the Czech Republic.