Argentina, Germany dominate World Cup awards finalists

{eot} Staff
7/11/2014 2:49:01 PM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

FIFA has announced the tournament awards nominees for the 2014 FIFA World Cup and the selections are dominated by the two teams that will contest the final on Sunday.

Of the ten players competing for the Golden Ball Award for tournament MVP, seven of them represent either Argentina or Germany.

Angel Di Maria, Javier Mascherano and Lionel Messi have been nominated from the South American nation while Mats Hummels, Philipp Lahm, Toni Kroos and Thomas Mueller have been selected from the European side.

The three remaining players are Neymar from Brazil, Arjen Robben from Netherlands and Colombian breakout star James Rodriguez.

Two of the three keepers up for the Golden Glove award are also still in contention for the tournament championship.

Both Manuel Neuer of Germany and Sergio Romero of Argentina are finalists as well as Keylor Navas from Costa Rica.

Memphis Depay of Netherlands, Paul Pogba and Raphael Varane of France have been nominated for the Best Young Player award given to the tournament's best player born after January 1st, 1993.

The Golden Boot award will go the the tournament's leading scorer, currently Rodriguez leads the tournament with six goals, while Mueller is second with five and Messi is tied with Neymar at four goals.

Javier Mascherano Lionel Messi (Photo: The Canadian Press)


(Photo: The Canadian Press)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

TSN TweetBox
© 2017
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television