Canada drawn in group with All Blacks at World Cup Sevens

The Canadian Press
2/28/2013 10:01:33 AM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

MOSCOW - Canada has been placed in a pool with New Zealand, the U.S., and Georgia for the Rugby World Cup Sevens 2013, set for June 28-30.

The Canadian men have enjoyed a good season to date, currently ranking 10th in the standings.

But they will be in tough in Pool D against the top-ranked All Blacks, who won the sevens stop in South Africa and reached four of the five Cup finals this season.

The Americans currently stand 13th and have been regular rivals on the circuit this season. Georgia is unranked.

Defending champion Wales was put in Pool E with Fiji, Tonga and Uruguay.

The men's event is split into six pools of four teams with the top country from each pool, together with the two best runners-up progressing to Cup quarter-finals.

On the women's side, Canada was drawn in Pool A with New Zealand, Netherlands and Tunisia. The top two will reach the quarter-finals.

Defending champion Australia is in Pool B with South Africa, China and Ireland.


Pool A: Australia, France, Spain, Tunisia

Pool B: South Africa, Scotland, Russia, Japan

Pool C: Samoa, Kenya, Zimbabwe, Philippines

Pool D: New Zealand, U.S., Canada, Georgia

Pool E: Fiji, Wales, Tonga, Uruguay

Pool F: England, Argentina, Portugal, Hong Kong


Pool A: Canada, New Zealand, Netherlands, Tunisia

Pool B: Australia, South Africa, China, Ireland

Pool C: USA, Spain, Brazil, Fiji

Pool D: England, Russia, France, Japan

Jamie Cudmore (Photo: Hannah Johnston/Getty Images)


(Photo: Hannah Johnston/Getty Images)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

© 2017
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television