South Africa's Habana wins award for try of the year

Associated Press
11/29/2012 10:57:59 AM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

DUBLIN, Ireland -- Bryan Habana's try for South Africa against New Zealand in September was picked as the try of the year by the International Rugby Players' Association on Thursday.

"Winning this award is very special," Habana said, "and hopefully I can continue scoring tries for the Springboks for a very long time."

For the award-winning try, Habana burst onto a pass from flanker Francois Louw, darted between two All Blacks, chipped over opposing winger Julian Savea, caught the ball on the bounce and slid over the line in Dunedin.

However, the Springboks lost the Rugby Championship contest 21-11.

Habana is the second South African to win the award, after Jaque Fourie in 2009.

Bryan Habana (Photo: The Canadian Press)


(Photo: The Canadian Press)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

© 2017
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television