Scotland picks seven uncapped players in 34-man squad

Associated Press
10/24/2012 11:39:40 AM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

EDINBURGH -- Andy Robinson has freshened up his Scotland squad with seven uncapped players for the game against world champion New Zealand on Nov. 11 at Murrayfield.

Kelly Brown, Rory Lawson, Jim Hamilton, Kyle Traynor and Ruaridh Jackson were recalled on Wednesday after missing the triumphant summer tour of Australia, Fiji and Samoa, while the seven uncapped players were Edinburgh's Stuart McInally and Grant Gilchrist, and Glasgow's Alex Dunbar, Peter Horne, Peter Murchie, Tommy Seymour and Henry Pyrgos.

Dunbar and McInally were late call-ups to the June tour but didn't see any playing time.

Alex Grove, Tom Brown, Richie Vernon and Robert Harley toured in the summer but weren't picked in the 34-man squad on Wednesday, while 13 others, including scrumhalf Chris Cusiter (shoulder) and Joe Ansbro (broken neck) were not considered due to injury.

Prop Euan Murray was also not named because he doesn't play on Sundays, but he could return when the squad is reconsidered for the Saturday tests with South Africa and Tonga.

Scotland has never beaten the All Blacks, but Robinson sees a matchup they can learn a lot from.

"We've got to be clear that we have everything to gain from this game," he said, "it's a great opportunity for players to really test themselves and for us to be clear on where we are."


Scotland: Forwards: John Barclay, Kelly Brown, Geoff Cross, David Denton, Ross Ford, Grant Gilchrist, Ryan Grant, Richie Gray, Dougie Hall, Jim Hamilton, Allan Jacobsen, Alastair Kellock, Scott Lawson, Stuart McInally, Ross Rennie, Tom Ryder, Alasdair Strokosch, Kyle Traynor. Backs: Mike Blair, Nick De Luca, Alex Dunbar, Max Evans, Stuart Hogg, Peter Horne, Ruaridh Jackson, Lee Jones, Greig Laidlaw, Sean Lamont, Rory Lawson, Peter Murchie, Henry Pyrgos, Matt Scott, Tommy Seymour, Tim Visser.

Rory Lawson (Photo: The Canadian Press)


(Photo: The Canadian Press)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

© 2017
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television