Tardif named new president of Canadian Paralympic Committee

The Canadian Press
5/11/2013 6:05:09 PM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

TORONTO, Ontario -- Dr. Gaetan Tardif has been elected as the new president of the Canadian Paralympic Committee.

The organization issued a release Saturday saying Tardif will take over from David Legg, who held the position for three years.

Tardif, who will serve a four-year term, has participated in seven consecutive Paralympic Games, most recently as Team Canada's Chef de Mission at London 2012.

The Toronto resident is an academic physician and health care executive. He is medical program director of Rehabilitation and Post-Acute Care at the University Health Network, a professor at the University of Toronto's Department of Medicine and a director at the university's Division of Physiatry.

"The hard work starts right away," Tardif said in a statement. "I'm really looking forward to working with the sport community to help Canada become the world's leading Paralympic nation. I truly believe I have the best volunteer job in the world."

Debbie Low of Richmond Hill, Ont., was elected as the CPC's new vice-president along with seven members to the board.

Canadian Paralympic Committee (Photo: TSN)


(Photo: TSN)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

© 2017
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television