McGill's Bettez and Dorion named CIS Athletes of the Year

{eot} Staff
4/30/2012 11:09:48 PM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

Ann-Sophie Bettez and Marc-André Dorion, both hockey players from McGill University, are the 2012 BLG Award winners as Canadian Interuniversity Sport female and male athletes of the year.
The recipients of the 20th annual BLG Awards were announced Monday night at the EPCOR Centre's Jack Singer Concert Hall in Calgary. The awards show will premiere on TSN on Saturday, May 26, at 1:30pm et/10:30am pt.

"On behalf of BLG and the Canadian Athletic Foundation trustees, I would like to congratulate Ann-Sophie Bettez and Marc-André Dorion, the winners of the 20th annual BLG Awards," said Doug Mitchell, National Co-Chair of BLG. "The eight student-athletes who were nominated are all outstanding in their sport. I congratulate all the nominees for their great accomplishments."

All eight nominees - one female and one male from each of CIS' four regional associations - received a commemorative gold ring, while Bettez and Dorion were also presented with a trophy and a $10,000 scholarship to attend a Canadian University graduate school.
The winners were selected by the Canadian Athletic Foundation, a not-for-profit Board established for the purpose of administering the BLG Awards and protecting the integrity of the selection process.

"Every year, all the nominees are so impressive and this year was no exception," said Marg McGregor, chief executive officer of CIS. "CIS is very proud of all the finalists and we congratulate Ann-Sophie and Marc-André on winning these awards. I look forward to hearing great things about them in the years to come."
A native of Sept-Iles, Que., Bettez took home the Jim Thompson Trophy, named after the late president of TSN and presented annually to the female BLG Award winner.
The other nominees were Tyson Beukeboom of Uxbridge, Ont., a rugby player from St. Francis Xavier University; Jacey Murphy of Alliston, Ont., a rugby player from the University of Guelph; and Robyn Pendleton of Victoria, a field hockey player from the University of British Columbia.
Dorion, who hails from St. Hubert, Que., received the Doug Mitchell Trophy, named in honour of the BLG Awards founder and Chair of the Canadian Athletic Foundation.
The other finalists were Andrew Clark of Brandon, Man., a hockey player from Acadia University; Kyle Quinlan of South Woodslee, Ont., a football player from McMaster University; and Ben Ball of Abbottsford, B.C., a volleyball player from Trinity Western University.
It marks the first time in history that the BLG Awards go to athletes from the same university, and the first time that two hockey players are honoured in the same year. The RSEQ regional association had swept the awards only once in the past, in 1999, when Concordia hockey player Corinne Swirsky and Sherbrooke track athlete Alexandre Marchand took home the trophies.
Dorion became the first-ever male winner from McGill, while two former Martlets, hockey player Kim St-Pierre (2003) and track and field star Linda Thyer (1995), had merited the Jim Thompson Trophy before Bettez.

Bettez and Dorion (Photo: The Canadian Press)


(Photo: The Canadian Press)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

Canadiens on TSN Radio 690

TSN Radio 690 is home to every Canadiens game.

Latest on the Habs

 | Free Agency Tracker
 | DraftCentre

Alouettes on TSN Radio 690

TSN 690 is the home to every Alouettes game, with Rick Moffat providing coverage.

Alouettes Hashmarks | Latest on the Als

 | Friday at 7pm | (TSN 690)
 | W 31-15 | Crompton 220y | Whyte: 3FG

Impact on TSN Radio 690

TSN 690 is home to every Impact game with soccer expert Noel Butler providing coverage.

Latest on the Impact

 | Saturday at 7:30pm | (TSN 690)
 | W 2-0 | McInerney, Duka
TSN TweetBox
© 2015
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television