Roughnecks forward Evans wins NLL player of the year award

The Canadian Press
5/9/2013 3:39:33 PM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

CALGARY - Calgary Roughnecks forward Shawn Evans has been named the National Lacrosse League's player of the year.

The native of Peterborough, Ont., captured the league's scoring title with a career-high 112 points (32 goals, 80 assists) to surpass the franchise record of 104 points set by both Josh Sanderson (2010) and Lewis Ratcliff (2007).

Evans' 80 assists in a season rank second-highest in NLL history. He also finished the 2013 campaign tied for fifth in the league with 12 power play goals.

"It is a great honour to receive this award as there are so many great players in this league including the other finalists, Garrett Billings and Rhys Duch," Evans said in a statement. "This achievement is a reflection of the great season the Roughnecks had. It's a privilege to take to the floor with this group of guys and this accomplishment highlights my teammates and their abilities."

Evans becomes the second player in franchise history to win the MVP award after teammate Jeff Shattler captured the honour in 2011.

Shawn Evans (Photo: National Lacrosse League)


(Photo: National Lacrosse League)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

© 2017
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television