Beijing named host of 2014 World Men's Championship

WCF Release
1/16/2013 12:29:25 PM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

Beijing, China was named host the 2014 World Men's Curling Championship on Wednesday, an event that will run from March 29 to April 6.

"The award of the 2014 World Men's Championship to Beijing is a major landmark in the development of curling" said World Curling Federation President Kate Caithness.

"It will be the first time that a World Men's Curling Championship will be staged in the Pacific-Asia zone. In the last decade we have witnessed a surge in growth of curling in the region. Following on from the World Women's Curling Championships in Japan in 2007 and Korea in 2009, China will now host the top twelve men's teams in the world and we look forward to working with our partners and sponsors to stage a first class show for the world to enjoy."

At the same time as the 2014 World Men's host agreement was signed, Titlis Glacier Mountain confirmed their title sponsorship of the Titlis Glacier Mountain World Women's Curling Championship 2013 in Riga, Latvia. They will also be a main sponsor, along with the City of Lucerne, of the 2014 Men's World Curling Championships in Beijing, China.

"The Chinese Curling Association would like to thank the World Curling Federation for putting their trust in us and our partners to host the 2014 World Men's Curling Championship" said Ni Huizhong, President of the Chinese Curling Association. "Curling is a sport that is growing incredibly fast not only throughout China but also throughout the rest of the Pacific-Asia region. We hope that this event, being staged just after the 2014 Olympic Winter Games in Sochi, Russia, will help continue to inspire the next generation of curlers throughout the world. We would like to invite everyone to China in 2014 and the city of Beijing to be part of this incredible experience."

The venue for the World Men's Curling Championship will be announced at a later date. The 2013 Ford World Men's Curling Championship will take place from March 30-April 7 at the Save-on-Foods Memorial Centre in Victoria British Columbia.

The 2014 Ford World Women's Curling Championship will take place in Saint John, New Brunswick from March 15-23 while the 2013 World Women's Curling Championship will take place from March 16-24 in Riga, Latvia.

Curling (Photo: Shaun Botterill /Allsport)


(Photo: Shaun Botterill /Allsport)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

CURLING LIVES HERE is a trade-mark of The Sports Network Inc.

© 2017
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television