Continental Cup gets underway Thursday in Penticton

CCA Release
1/7/2013 3:43:43 PM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size
The World Financial Group Continental Cup gets underway Thursday in Penticton, BC and you can watch all the action on TSN, TSN2 and TSN Mobile TV.
It marks the ninth edition of this unique international Ryder Cup-like curling competition, featuring six teams from North America versus six teams representing The World in a variety of disciplines during the four days – Team Games, Mixed Doubles, Singles, Mixed Skins and Skins.
Currently, North America and The World are knotted at four wins apiece since the inaugural Continental Cup in 2002 in Regina. North America won in 2002, 2004 and 2007 in Medicine Hat and in 2011 in St. Albert, Alberta.  Team World took the 2003 edition in Thunder Bay, 2006 in Chilliwack, 2008 in Camrose, Alberta and 2012 in Langley.
The scoring system has been revamped for this renewal.  Each segment offers points for wins (or ties), with the first side to reach 30 ½ points declared the winner. 
There will now be 18 team games (nine men's and nine women's), each worth one point for a win, one-half point for a tie. All games are eight ends and there are no extra ends. For the six Mixed Doubles and six Singles matches, one point will also be awarded for each victory, one-half point if tied. 
The six Skins Games (two Mixed, two women's and two men's) now offer a total of five points per game, with the first six ends of each game worth one-half point each, while the seventh and eighth ends are worth one point each. 
The winning side receives $52,000 Cdn ($2,000 per member, including captain and coach), while the losing side gets $26,000 ($1,000 per member, including captain and coach). As well, the side which generates the highest points total from the six Skins games will receive an additional $13,000 ($500 per player, plus captain and coach).
North America will be represented by four teams from Canada – skipped by Glenn Howard of Coldwater, Ontario, Kevin Martin and Heather Nedohin of Edmonton and Jennifer Jones of Winnipeg and two teams from the United States - skipped by Lansing, Michigan native Heath McCormick, who now lives in Sarnia, Ontario and Allison Pottinger of St. Paul, Minnesota.
The captain will be 2000 world champion and 2002 Olympic bronze medallist Kelley Law of Coquitlam while three-time Brier winner and two-time world champion Rick Lang of Thunder Bay will return as coach.
The World's colours will be worn by teams skipped by Sweden's Niklas Edin of Karlstad and Margaretha Sigfridsson of Skellefteå, Scotland's Tom Brewster of Aberdeen and Eve Muirhead of Dunkeld, Norway's Thomas Ulsrud of Oslo and Switzerland's Mirjam Ott of Davos.
The captain will be Scotland's former world champion David Hay while Sweden's Peja Lindholm, a three-time world champion, will be the coach, the same positions they held when directing Team World to victory last season in Langley.
Jennifer Jones (Photo: Canadian Press)


(Photo: Canadian Press)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

CURLING LIVES HERE is a trade-mark of The Sports Network Inc.

© 2017
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television