Howard among skips voted into The Dominion All-Star Skins

{eot} Staff
12/11/2012 5:50:38 PM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

The polls have now closed and more than 550,000 votes have been counted with Glenn Howard, Jeff Stoughton, Kevin Martin and Kevin Koe all voted into The Dominion All-Star Curling Skins Game Presented by Pinty's. The world-class skips will compete in TSN's annual curling skins event playing for $100,000 in prize money during The Dominion All-Star Curling Skins Game Presented by Pinty's on Jan. 19-20, 2013 live on TSN from Casino Rama in Rama, ON.

Howard, Stoughton, Martin, and Koe will all be playing with new teams as they draw players from a group of 12 curlers also voted into the skins game. 

The thirds, seconds, and leads voted into the game include Olympic gold medallists John Morris (third), Marc Kennedy (second), and Ben Hebert (lead). Morris amassed a whopping 29,677 votes to become the No. 1 vote getter, while Kennedy garnered 29,482 votes and Hebert earned 28,751 votes to No. 2 and No. 3 respectively.

The top four curlers at each position – skip, third, second, and lead – who qualified for The Dominion All-Star Curling Skins Game Presented by Pinty's are as follows (Name, Number of Votes Earned):


Glenn Howard - 24,284
Jeff Stoughton - 23,684
Kevin Martin - 22,596
Kevin Koe - 19,181


John Morris - 29,677
Jon Mead - 28,436
Pat Simmons - 18,010
B.J. Neufeld - 13,993


Marc Kennedy - 29,482
Carter Rycroft - 21,672
Brent Laing - 21,032
Reid Carruthers - 19,665


Ben Hebert - 28,751
Craig Savill - 23,815
Steve Gould - 20,005
Nolan Thiessen - 18,555

All-Star Draw

As part of this year's new All-Star qualifying format, the teams will be determined by random draw during a live broadcast on Thursday, Jan. 17 on TSN. The 30-minute TSN original production will feature Glenn Howard, Jeff Stoughton, Kevin Martin, and Kevin Koe drawing the names of the third, second, and lead that they will compete with during the two-day skins game.

Skip profiles

Glenn Howard (Ontario) – Reigning World Champion Glenn Howard is coming off a banner season after being crowned Brier Champion and earning his fourth World title (1987, 1993, 2007, 2012).  The Midland, ON native is no stranger to the TSN skins game, having won the event in 2001. Howard's career TSN skins earnings total $169,900.

Jeff Stoughton (Manitoba) – 2012 Canada Cup winner Jeff Stoughton is making his fourth TSN skins game appearance. The three-time Brier Champion and two-time World Champion's resume also includes victories at the 2003 Players' Championships, 2004 World Cup of Curling and the 2006 Canadian Open of Curling.  Stoughton has won a total of $34,500 in TSN skins game prize money.

Kevin Martin (Alberta) – Kevin Martin won gold at the Vancouver 2010 Olympic Winter Games, adding this elusive title to his already impressive resume that includes World Champion (2008), four Brier championships (1991, 1997, 2008, 2009) and a silver medal at the Salt Lake City 2002 Olympic Winter Games. Throughout his career Martin has won five TSN skins titles (1997, 1998, 2004, 2007, 2011), making him the leading money earner in TSN skins history with $418,850 in winnings. 

Kevin Koe (Alberta) – Defending champion Kevin Koe returns for his third year after winning his first TSN skins title and $43,900 in prize money in January 2012. The Edmonton resident is the 2010 Brier and World Champion making him the youngest skip to win the Brier since 1992. Koe has pocketed a total of $51,900 in TSN skins game prize money over the past two years.

Sponsors for this year's event include The Dominion, Pinty's, Casino Rama, Chartered Accountants, ASPIRIN, The Source, and Carlton Cards.

Glenn Howard (Photo: The Canadian Press)


(Photo: The Canadian Press)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

CURLING LIVES HERE is a trade-mark of The Sports Network Inc.

© 2017
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television