Jones, Martin headline curling's Canada Cup on TSN

CCA Release
11/27/2012 10:31:52 AM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size
The Capital One Canada Cup, presented by Mosaic, gets underway Wednesday in Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, kicking off the Canadian Curling Association's Season of Champions.
This 10th edition brings together seven of the best men's and women's teams in the country, competing for berths directly into the 2013 Tim Hortons Canadian Curling Trials Roar of the Rings, December 1-8 in Winnipeg, which will determine Canada's representatives for the 2014 Olympic Winter Games in Sochi, Russia.
The women's field comprises reigning Scotties Tournament of Hearts champion and Ford Worlds bronze medallist Heather Nedohin of Edmonton; defending Canada Cup champion, four-time Scotties and 2008 world champion Jennifer Jones of Winnipeg; two-time winner and reigning Players' Champion Stefanie Lawton of Saskatoon; 2003 winner Sherry Middaugh of Coldwater, Ontario; Winnipeg's Cathy Overton-Clapham, 2007 winner, 2008 world champion and five-time Scotties winner; 2011 runner-up Chelsea Carey of Winnipeg and Crystal Webster of Calgary, a 2009 Pre-Trials event winner.
Jones qualified as the defending champion while Nedohin qualified by winning last year's Scotties.  The balance qualified from their standing on the Canadian Team Ranking System (CTRS) for the 2011-12 season.
The men's field boasts 2010 winner, four-time Brier champion and reigning world champion Glenn Howard of Coldwater, Ontario; four-time Canada Cup and Brier winner and 2010 Olympic gold medallist Kevin Martin of Edmonton; two-time world champion Jeff Stoughton of Winnipeg; 2010 world champion Kevin Koe of Calgary; 2006 Olympic gold medallist Brad Gushue of St. John's; Mike McEwen of Winnipeg, the leading money winner on the World Curling Tour for the last two years and John Epping of Toronto, the 2012 Players' Championship winner.
Martin qualified as the defending champion, Howard for winning last year's Tim Hortons Brier, the balance from their standing on the 2011-12 CTRS.
For the first time in Canada Cup history, TSN will provide complete coverage of the Capital One Canada Cup from the opening draw on Wednesday through to and including the women's and men's finals on Sunday.
The total prize money is $70,000 each for men and women, with the winning teams receiving $14,000. The runners-up get $9,000 while the third place finishers earn $5,000. Teams also receive $2,000 for each round robin win.
In addition to berths into the 2013 Trials, the winners also earn invitations to the 2014 World Financial Group Continental Cup.
Kevin Martin (Photo: The Canadian Press)


(Photo: The Canadian Press)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

CURLING LIVES HERE is a trade-mark of The Sports Network Inc.

© 2017
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television