TSN Community

Fort Frances, ON named 10th stop on Kraft Celebration Tour

Media Release
7/22/2013 6:35:01 PM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

After two weeks and more than 3 million votes, Canadians have chosen the 10th and final winning community for the 2013 Kraft Celebration Tour, with Fort Frances, Ont. winning a national, head-to-head online vote over Dryden, Ont. Fort Frances garnered 518,082 votes to Dryden's 272,292, which total as the most and second most votes cast in this year's campaign. As part of the Kraft Celebration Tour, Fort Frances receives $25,000 to put towards maintaining the Fort Frances Curling Club.

Fort Frances will also host a special edition of SPORTSCENTRE featuring anchors Darren Dutchyshen and Jennifer Hedger when they wrap up the 2013 Kraft Celebration Tour live from the northwestern Ontario community on Sunday, Aug. 25 at 6 p.m. ET on TSN.

“It's great to see the growth of the sport of curling in Fort Frances,” said Jack Hewitt, Vice-President, Marketing Insights and Services, Kraft Canada. “We're very pleased to support the Fort Frances Curling Club and invest in ensuring the facility continues to play an important role in inspiring youth and adults to get and stay active.”

About Fort Frances, Ont.:

Located in northwestern Ontario in the Rainy River District, the town of Fort Frances shares a common border with Minnesota. Hailed as the oldest settlement west of Lake Superior, the town became a permanent post for Hudson's Bay Company in 1818. Today, Fort Frances is home to nearly 8,000 people and is known for its word-class fishing, among other outdoor activities.

The $25,000 prize money from the Kraft Celebration Tour will go towards offsetting the costs incurred for installing a geothermal heating and cooling system at the Fort Frances Curling Club.

Along with Fort Frances, the 10 winning communities chosen for the 2013 Kraft Celebration Tour editions of SPORTSCENTRE at 6 p.m. ET on TSN are as follows:

Friday, Aug. 16 – Fort Smith, N.W.T.

Saturday, Aug. 17 – Morell, P.E.I.

Sunday, Aug. 18 – Bridgewater, N.S.

Monday, Aug. 19 – Invermere, B.C.

Tuesday, Aug. 20 – Fredericton, N.B.

Wednesday, Aug. 21 – Raymond, Alta.

Thursday, Aug. 22 – Saint-Étienne-de-Beauharnois, Que.

Friday, Aug. 23 – Rocanville, Sask.

Saturday, Aug. 24 – Wilmot, Ont.

Sunday, Aug. 25 – Fort Frances, Ont.

For more information on each community project, visit KraftCelebrationTour.ca or Tourneedecelebrationkraft.ca.

The Kraft Celebration Tour kicks off on Friday, Aug. 16 at 6 p.m. ET with SPORTSCENTRE broadcasting live from Fort Smith, N.W.T. – marking the first ever territory to be visited by the Kraft Celebration Tour. Anchors Darren Dutchyshen and Jennifer Hedger host SPORTSCENTRE from all communities in Western Canada, while Rod Smith and Kate Beirness bring Canada's top-rated daily sportscast to Eastern Canada communities.

In addition, RDS anchors Luc Bellemare, Valérie Sardin, and reporter Geneviève Langlois join the Kraft Celebration Tour festivities in Quebec, as they host a live broadcast of SPORTS 30 LE MAGAZINE from Saint-Étienne-de-Beauharnois, with Marc Labrecque providing special reports from Montreal as he covers the Alouettes.

Fans can keep up with the Kraft Celebration Tour on social media by visiting and liking the Kraft Celebration Tour Fan Page on Facebook and by following and interacting with the tour's personalities on Twitter. The official Twitter account for the Kraft Celebration Tour is @KCTAndy and the official hashtags include #KCT and #tourneedecelebrationkraft.

Jennifer Hedger and Darren Dutchyshen (Photo: TSN)


(Photo: TSN)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

Join the TSN Community

Members of TSN's online community can post messages on stories using the It's Your Call feature, vote on posts made by other members, sign up for TSN's Morning Email service, and get notices about upcoming broadcast events or other special offers.

Click here to register!

Your Call FAQ

Terms and Conditions

Privacy Policy

TSN TweetBox

© 2015
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television