University Sports

Brock women, Alberta men triumphant in wrestling

The Canadian Press
3/3/2013 12:37:10 AM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

LONDON, Ont. -- The Brock University women and University of Alberta men captured the team banners at the CIS wrestling championships on Saturday, while Concordia's David Tremblay entered the record books with his fifth individual gold medal in as many seasons.

The Brock Badgers easily repeated as women's champions finishing with 54 points, nine better than second-place Alberta (45). Calgary (38), Saskatchewan (29) and host Western (29) rounded out the leading quintet. It was the third national title overall for the Brock women, who also triumphed in 2002.

In men's competition, Alberta finally returned to the top after a four-decade wait. The Bears, who had claimed three consecutive championships from 1970 to 1972, tallied 52 points to win a thrilling race over Brock (51) and Western (49). Two-time defending champion Concordia (41) settled for fourth place, with Saskatchewan (38) completing the top five.

Brock had athletes in four of eight women's finals and three of them triumphed, including Jade Parsons, who successfully defended her title at 48 kilograms, Diana Ford, now a three-time champion at 51 kg, as well as freshman Carlene Sluberski (55 kg). Rebecca Levitt (72 kg) settled for silver, while Natascha Chang (63 kg) and Marissa Sorrel (67 kg) won their bronze-medal matches. Olivia Dibacco (82 kg) also scored points for the champs with a fifth-place finish.

Other female gold medallists included University of New Brunswick's Samantha Stewart (59 kg), Concordia's Linda Morais (63 kg), Regina's Lisa McKibben (67 kg), Alberta's Molly Bouchard (72 kg) and Calgary's Holly Ellsworth-Clark (82 kg).

Stewart was named CIS' outstanding female wrestler thanks to her 3-0, 4-0 victory over Saskatchewan's Koren Pitkethly in the 59 kg final. Earlier in the tournament, she had defeated Alberta's Jamie Bergenstrom 8-0, Calgary's Jessie Seida 4-1 and 7-0, and Western's Andrea Wakelin 5-0, 7-0.

On the men's side, Alberta accomplished a rare feat by capturing the title without winning a single gold medal. The Bears had depth however as they were they only men's team competing in all 10 weight classes.

Dylan Williams (61 kg), Mike Asselstine (65 kg), Jamie Yurick (82 kg) and Jamie Hoffman (130 kg) all took silver on Saturday for the victors, who also saw Jason Wass (57 kg) finish fourth, Drew Belanger (68 kg) and Daniel Oloumi (90 kg) fifth, Coleman Brinker (76 kg) sixth, and Jay Naicker (54 kg) and Adel Taj (72 kg) seventh.

Brock countered with three gold-medal winners, including CJ Hudson (65 kg), Javon Balfour (68 kg) and Matrixx Ferreiro (76kg), and a pair of third-place finishers in Brian Cowan (54 kg) and Zack Falcioni (57 kg).

Steven Takahashi (54 kg) and Ilya Abelev (72 kg) both claimed their third consecutive CIS gold medals for Western. Abelev triumphed in his third division in three seasons, after winning at 65 kg in 2011 and 68 kg a year ago.

The other male individual champions were Tremblay (61 kg), Regina's Steven Schneider (57 kg), Winnipeg's Briston Brenton (82 kg), Concordia's Jordan Steen (90 kg) and Guelph's John Fitzgerald (130 kg).

Tremblay, a 2012 Olympian, was named outstanding male wrestler for the second time in his career following his win over Alberta's Williams at 61 kg (7-0, 9-2). He was also honoured in his freshman season in 2009.

A native of Stoney Point, Ont., he became only the fifth wrestler in CIS history -- and the third male -- to finish his university career with the maximum of five individual gold medals. He prevailed at 61 kg as a rookie and at 57 kg the next two seasons, before returning to 61 kg last year.

CIS women's wrestling (Photo: CIS)


(Photo: CIS)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

© 2017
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television