Hockey Canada

First 13 players commit to Team Canada for Worlds

{eot} Staff
4/25/2013 6:56:11 PM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

Canada's team for the 2013 IIHF World Championship is starting to take shape as the NHL season draws to its conclusion.

As reported by TSN Insider Pierre LeBrun on Thursday's Insider Trading, 13 NHL players have already committed to joining Team Canada for the upcoming tournament in Sweden and Finland.

The forwards will include: Steven Stamkos of the Tampa Bay Lightning, Edmonton Oilers forwards Taylor Hall and Jordan Eberle, Claude Giroux, Matt Read and Wayne Simmonds of the Philadelphia Flyers, Eric Staal and Jordan Staal of the Carolina Hurricanes and Ryan O'Reilly and Matt Duchene of the Colorado Avalanche.

The Flyers' Luke Schenn and Florida Panthers' Brian Campbell have committed to the team's defence corps.

Meanwhile, Oilers goaltender Devan Dubnyk will also join the team.

More players are expected to be added over the next two-to-three days as the Stanley Cup Playoffs take shape.

The World Championship runs May 3-19 in Stockholm and Helsinki. It is the last major international men's tournament before rosters are selected for the 2014 Winter Olympics in Sochi, Russia.

Steven Stamkos (Photo: Marianne Helm/Getty Images)


(Photo: Marianne Helm/Getty Images)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

© 2017
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television