Hockey Canada

Forsberg, Sundin, TSN's Gord Miller among IIHF HOF nods

{eot} Staff
11/23/2012 11:37:05 AM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

Swedish stars Peter Forsberg and Mats Sundin headline the newest class of honourees for the International Ice Hockey Federation Hall of Fame.

Canadians Paul Henderson and Danielle Goyette will also be inducted, along with Finnish defenceman Teppo Numminen.

TSN broadcaster Gord Miller will also be honoured with the Paul Loicq Award, which is given for exceptional contributions to international ice hockey. Miller has been involved in TSN's broadcasts of the World Junior Championship for 18 years.

The IIHF Milestone Trophy, which recognizes defining international hockey moments, will be awarded to the 1954 Soviet Union team that won gold at the World Championship in its first tournament.

Jan-Ake Edvinsson of Sweden, the General Secretary for 21 years, will be honoured in the Builders Category.

"Both as president of the IIHF and as chairman of the Historical Committee, I am immensely proud to announce this group", said René Fasel. "Classes of international hockey greats can probably not come any better than this. Each and every inductee has had profound impact on the international game and hockey in their countries."

The IIHF Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place next May in Stockholm, Sweden at the World Hockey Championship.

Peter Forsberg (Photo: Brian Bahr/Getty Images)


(Photo: Brian Bahr/Getty Images)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

© 2017
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television