Got a question on rule clarification, comments on rule enforcements or some memorable NHL stories? Kerry wants to answer your emails at email@example.com!
In Friday night's game between the Toronto Maple Leafs and New Jersey Devils, a hooking penalty was called on Marek Zidlicky at 8:12 of the second period as Phil Kessel scored. The penalty was still assessed! I thought when you scored, it negated the penalty? What did I miss?
What you missed was 1:05 on the penalty clock that was being served by Andy Greene of the Devils for hooking Mason Raymond. Greene's remaining penalty time terminated by virtue of Phil Kessel's power-play goal scored on a nifty coast-to-coast rush at 8:12 of the third period. A team that has been scored upon is entitled to relief of one minor penalty only so the delayed hooking penalty being signaled against Zidlicky was assessed and served with the termination of Greene's penalty.
Rule 16.2 tells us that when a team is playing 'short-handed' (below the numerical strength of its opponent) at the time a goal is scored, the minor or bench minor penalty which terminates automatically is the one with the least amount of time on the clock. (Coincidental minor penalties to both teams do not cause a team to be shorthanded.)
The minor penalty expiration criteria are as follows: (Questions for the ref to consider) Is the team scored against shorthanded? Is the team scored against serving a minor on the clock?
If both criteria are satisfied, the minor penalty with the least amount of time on the clock shall terminate, except when coincidental minor penalties are being served. No penalty shall expire when a goal is scored against a team on a penalty shot.
If the teams had been playing at even strength (or even if the Leafs were shorthanded) at the time of Kessel's goal, the delayed penalty being signaled to Zidlicky would have been negated under Rule 15.2: If the penalty to be imposed is a minor penalty and a goal is scored on the play by the non-offending side, the minor penalty shall not be imposed. If two or more minor penalties were to be imposed, the captain would designate to the referee which minor penalty will be washed out as a result of the goal. In the case of a double minor penalty being imposed, one of the minor penalties would automatically terminate.
Gloria, when I first joined the NHL in the mid 1970's, the situation you presented would have been treated differently under the rules. Back then, the team scored upon was not only entitled to relief of the minor penalty being served (by Andy Greene) but additionally any delayed penalty that was being signaled (to Marek Zidlicky) was also negated through the scoring of a power play goal (by Phil Kessel).