IndyCar Series

Vautier gives Sam Schmidt Racing the Indy Lights title

Associated Press
9/15/2012 8:11:42 PM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

FONTANA, Calif. -- Tristan Vautier finished fourth in the Indy Lights season finale to wrap up the series championship.

Vautier edged Sam Schmidt Motorsports teammate Esteban Guerrieri to win the title. It's the second consecutive year Guerrieri has finished second in the championship race.

Vautier gave Schmidt his third consecutive Lights title. The Frenchman had four wins this season and beat Guerrieri by eight points for the title.

The finale at Auto Club Speedway on Saturday was won by Carlos Munoz of Andretti Autosport. It was his second win of the year.

David Ostella finished a career-high second and was followed by Guerrieri, who had to win to take the Indy Lights title.

Schmidt has won six total Indy Lights championships.

Tristan Vautier (Photo: Robert Laberge/Getty Images)


(Photo: Robert Laberge/Getty Images)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

© 2017
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television