IndyCar Series

Power captures Sonoma pole; Tagliani 8th, Hinchcliffe 11th

Associated Press
8/25/2012 7:51:41 PM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

SONOMA, Calif. -- Will Power has won the pole in Sonoma for the third straight year, putting the IndyCar points leader in prime position to go for his third consecutive victory at the track.

Power was timed in 1 minute, 17.2709 seconds around the 2.31-mile, 12-turn layout on the south end of Northern California's wine country Saturday.

Power's Penske Racing teammate, Ryan Briscoe, was second in 1:17.4347, and Sebastien Bourdais was third in 1:17.7497. Helio Castroneves, who completed Penske's podium sweep last year in Sonoma alongside Power and Briscoe, will start fourth.

Alex Tagliani of Lachenaie, Que., had the eighth fastest time. James Hinchcliffe of Oakville, Ont., was 11th.

Only 28 points separate the top four drivers in the points standings with only three races left in the IndyCar season. Ryan Hunter-Reay trails Power by just five points, but will start in seventh Sunday.

Watch the race live on TSN2, Sunday at 4pm et/1pm pt. Also available on TSN Mobile TV.

Will Power (Photo: The Canadian Press)


(Photo: The Canadian Press)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story

© 2017
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television