IndyCar Series


as of Wednesday, May 07, 2014 11:48 AM.

Verizon IndyCar Series - Grand Prix of Indianapolis Preview

Date: Saturday, May 10

Start Time: 3:50 p.m. ET

Site: Indianapolis Motor Speedway (road course) -- Indianapolis, Ind.

Track: 2.434-mile, 14-turn road course

Laps: 82

Miles: 200


Total purse:


Year: 1st



On Radio: IMS Radio Network/ SIRIUS XM Satellite

Race record:

Qualifying record:

Defending champion:

Runner up:

Pole winner:

Top 10:

Average speed:

Time of race:

Margin of victory:

Caution flags:

Lead changes:

Past winners

Last race

Race: Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama (April 27)

Site: Barber Motorsports Park -- Birmingham, Ala.

Miles: 164.22

Laps: 69 (Timed race: 1 hr., 40 mins.)

Finish line order: Ryan Hunter-Reay, Marco Andretti, Scott Dixon, Simon Pagenaud, Will Power

Time of Race: 1 hr., 40 mins., 43.3337 secs.

Average speed: 94.537 mph

Margin of victory: Under Caution

Caution flags: 5 for 16 laps

Lead changes: 7 among 6 drivers

Lap leaders: Will Power 1-15; Ryan Hunter-Reay 16-22; Sebastian Saavedra Will Power 1-15; Ryan Hunter-Reay 16-22; Sebastian Saavedra 23-33; Hunter-Reay 34-48; Marco Andretti 49; Scott Dixon 50; Justin Wilson 51; Hunter-Reay 52-69.

Entry list

#2 Juan Pablo Montoya (Bogota, Colombia Chevrolet/Team Penske

#3 Helio Castroneves (Sao Paulo, Brazil Chevrolet/Team Penske

#7 Mikhail Aleshin (Moscow, Russia) Honda/Schmidt Peterson Motorsports

#8 Ryan Briscoe (Sydney, Australia) Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing

#9 Scott Dixon (Auckland, New Zealand) Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing

#10 Tony Kanaan (Salvador, Brazil) Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing

#11 Sebastien Bourdais (Le Mans, France) Chevrolet/KVSH Racing

#12 Will Power (Toowoomba, Australia) Chevrolet/Team Penske

#14 Takuma Sato (Tokyo, Japan) Honda/A.J. Foyt Enterprises

#15 Graham Rahal (New Albany, OH) Honda/Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing

#16 Oriol Servia (Pals, Spain) Honda/Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing

#17 Sebastian Saavedra (Bogota, Colombia Chevrolet/KVAFS Racing

#18 Carlos Huertas (Bogota, Colombia) Honda/Dale Coyne Racing

#19 Justin Wilson (Sheffield, England) Honda/Dale Coyne Racing

#20 Mike Conway (Bromley, England) Chevrolet/Ed Carpenter Racing

#25 Marco Andretti (Nazareth, PA) Honda/Andretti Autosport

#26 Franck Montagny (Feurs,Loire, France Honday/Andretti Autosport

#27 James Hinchcliffe (Toronto, Canada) Honda/Andretti Autosport

#28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (Ft. Lauderdale, FL Honda/Andretti Autosport

#34 Carlos Munoz (Bogota, Colombia) Honda/Andretti-HVM

#41 Martin Plowman (Staffordshire, Eng.) Honda/A.J. Foyt Enterprises

#67 Josef Newgarden (Hendersonville, TN) Honda/Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing

#77 Simon Pagenaud (Montmorillon, France Honda/Schmidt Peterson Hamilton

#83 Charlie Kimball (Camarillo, CA) Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing

#99 Jack Hawksworth (Bradford, England) Honda/BHA/BBM

Leading contenders



The Grand Prix of Indianapolis on Indianapolis Motor Speedway's road course is the fourth race on the 2014 Verizon IndyCar Series schedule.

This 2.434-mile, 14-turn road course incorporates portions of turn 1 and 2 as well as the frontstretch of the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway. The racing will feature a standing start and will run clockwise, the opposite of the Indianapolis 500. Drivers will have at minimum four unique opportunities to pass, including the revised turn 1, a 90-degree right-hand corner.

The IMS road course was initially laid for the United States Grand Prix Formula One race that ran from 2000-07.

About 18 hours after the checkered flag flies on the GP of Indianapolis, the 2.5-mile oval opens for the initial practice session for the Indianapolis 500.

There have been three different winners in as many IndyCar races this season: Will Power (St. Petersburg, Fla.), Mike Conway (Long Beach, Calif.) and Ryan Hunter-Reay (Birmingham, Ala.).

The next race is the 98th running of the Indianapolis 500 on May 25. Tony Kanaan is the defending race champion.

© 2015
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television