IndyCar Series


as of Tuesday, July 15, 2014 11:07 PM.

Verizon IndyCar Series - Honda Indy Toronto (Race 2) Preview

Date: Sunday, July 20

Start Time: 3:55 p.m. ET (expected green flag)

Site: Streets of Toronto -- Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Track: 1.75-mile, 11-turn temporary street course

Laps: 85

Miles: 149.74


Total purse:


Year: 2nd (IndyCar-sanctioned race)

On TV: NBC Sports Network


On Radio: IMS Radio Network/SIRIUS Satellite

Race record: Scott Dixon, 2013 (94.177 mph)

Qualifying record: Scott Dixon, 2013 (107.142 mph)

2013 (Race 2) Finish

Defending champion: Scott Dixon

Runner up: Helio Castroneves

Pole winner: Scott Dixon (107.142 mph)

Top 10:

1. Scott Dixon (Start: 1)

2. Helio Castroneves (3)

3. Sebastien Bourdais (7)

4. Dario Franchitti (2)

5. EJ Viso (10)

6. Charlie Kimball (15)

7. Mike Conway (23)

8. Justin Wilson (13)

9. Marco Andretti (17)

10. Alex Tagliani (8)

Average speed: 94.177 mph

Time of race: 1 hr., 35 mins., 2.3755 secs.

Margin of victory: Under Caution

Caution flags: 3 for 10 laps

Lead changes: 3 among 3 drivers

Past winners

2013 Scott Dixon, Dallara-Honda, 94.177 mph

Last race

Race: Iowa Corn Indy 300 (July 12)

Site: Iowa Speedway -- Newton, Iowa

Miles: 262.5

Laps: 300

Finish line order: Ryan Hunter-Reay, Josef Newgarden, Tony Kanaan, Scott Dixon, Ed Carpenter

Time of Race: 2 hrs., 1 min., 58.8160 secs.

Average speed: 131.923 mph

Margin of victory: 0.5814 secs.

Caution flags: 7 for 68 laps

Lead changes: 6 among 4 drivers

Lap leaders: Scott Dixon 1; Tony Kanaan 2-42; Helio Castroneves 43-76; Kanaan Scott Dixon 1; Tony Kanaan 2-42; Helio Castroneves 43-76; Kanaan 77-247; Dixon 248-263; Kanaan 264-298; Ryan Hunter-Reay 299-300.

Entry list

#2 Juan Pablo Montoya (Bogota, Colombia Chevrolet/Team Penske

#3 Helio Castroneves (Sao Paulo, Brazil Chevrolet/Team Penske

#7 Mikhail Aleshin (Moscow, Russia) Honda/Schmidt Peterson Motorsports

#8 Ryan Briscoe (Sydney, Australia) Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing

#9 * Scott Dixon (Auckland, New Zealand) Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing

#10 Tony Kanaan (Salvador, Brazil) Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing

#11 Sebastien Bourdais (Le Mans, France) Chevrolet/KVSH Racing

#12 Will Power (Toowoomba, Australia) Chevrolet/Team Penske

#14 Takuma Sato (Tokyo, Japan) Honda/A.J. Foyt Enterprises

#15 Graham Rahal (New Albany, OH) Honda/Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing

#16 Luca Filippi (Savigliano, Italy) Honda/Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing

#17 Sebastian Saavedra (Bogota, Colombia Chevrolet/KVAFS Racing

#18 Carlos Huertas (Bogota, Colombia) Honda/Dale Coyne Racing

#19 Justin Wilson (Sheffield, England) Honda/Dale Coyne Racing

#20 Mike Conway (Bromley, England) Chevrolet/Ed Carpenter Racing

#25 Marco Andretti (Nazareth, PA) Honda/Andretti Autosport

#27 James Hinchcliffe (Toronto, Canada) Honda/Andretti Autosport

#28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (Ft. Lauderdale, FL Honda/Andretti Autosport

#34 Carlos Munoz (Bogota, Colombia) Honda/Andretti-HVM

#67 Josef Newgarden (Hendersonville, TN) Honda/Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing

#77 Simon Pagenaud (Montmorillon, France Honda/Schmidt Peterson Hamilton

#83 Charlie Kimball (Camarillo, CA) Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing

#99 Jack Hawksworth (Bradford, England) Honda/BHA/BBM

Leading contenders

Name 2013
Scott Dixon Won
Helio Castroneves 2
Sebastien Bourdais 3
Charlie Kimball 6
Mike Conway 7
Justin Wilson 8
Marco Andretti 9
Josef Newgarden 11
Simon Pagenaud 12
Graham Rahal 13
Sebastian Saavedra 15
Carlos Munoz 17
Will Power 18
Ryan Hunter-Reay 19
Takuma Sato 20
James Hinchcliffe 21
Tony Kanaan 24
Juan Pablo Montoya ---
Ryan Briscoe ---
Carlos Huertas ---
Mikhail Aleshin ---
Jack Hawksworth ---
Luca Filippi ---


Race 2 of the Honda Indy Toronto, held on the streets of Toronto, is the 14th event on the 2014 Verizon IndyCar Series schedule.

This will be the third and final time this season that IndyCar runs two full- distance races at a venue on the same weekend. The Raceway at Belle Isle Park in Detroit hosted the first weekend doubleheader of the year on May 31-June 1. The second weekend doubleheader this season took place at Houston's NRG Park on June 28-29.

This will be the sixth straight year that Toronto hosts an IndyCar-sanctioned race. Prior to IndyCar's inaugural event in 2009, CART/Champ Car competed on the streets of Toronto from 1986-2007.

The IndyCar champion has won in Toronto in four of the last five years. Dario Franchitti, Ryan Hunter-Reay and Scott Dixon all won on the streets of Toronto before eventually claiming the title. Franchitti accomplished the feat in 2009 and again in 2011. Hunter-Reay did it in 2012. Dixon scored a weekend-sweep in Toronto and then captured the series championship last year.

Chip Ganassi Racing has won six times at Toronto: Michael Andretti (1994), Alex Zanardi (1998), Franchitti (2009 and 2011) and Dixon (2013, both races).

Team Penske has two wins at this circuit: Paul Tracy (1993) and Will Power (2010). Team Penske has six pole positions there as well: Danny Sullivan (1988 and 1990), Emerson Fittipaldi (1993), Helio Castroneves (2000), Gil de Ferran (2001) and Will Power (2011).

Andretti Autosport is the only other active team to win at Toronto with Ryan Hunter-Reay in 2012. Team owner Michael Andretti won in Toronto seven times as a driver (CART races - 1989, 1991, 1992, 1994, 1995, 2000 and 2001).

The Honda Indy Toronto will be the ninth and 10th races on a road/street course in 2014. The first eight races were won by Will Power (St. Petersburg), Mike Conway (Long Beach), Ryan Hunter-Reay (Barber), Simon Pagenaud (Grand Prix of Indianapolis and Houston-2), Will Power (Belle Isle-1), Helio Castroneves (Belle Isle-2) and Carlos Huertas (Houston-1).

The next race is the Aug. 3 Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course in Lexington, Ohio. Charlie Kimball won last year's event there.

© 2015
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television