IndyCar Series


as of Tuesday, June 24, 2014 2:34 PM.

Verizon IndyCar Series - Shell Pennzoil GP/Houston (Race 2) Preview

Date: Sunday, June 29

Start Time: 3:50 p.m. ET (expected green flag)

Site: M.D. Anderson Cancer Center Speedway at NRG Park -- Houston, Texas

Track: 1.683-mile, 10-turn temporary street circuit

Laps: 90

Miles: 153


Total purse:


Year: 2nd (IndyCar-sanctioned race)

On TV: NBC Sports Network


On Radio: IMS Radio Network/ SIRIUS XM Satellite

Race record: Will Power, 2013 (78.444 mph/1 hr., 52 mins., 28.9525 secs.)

Qualifying record: Takuma Sato, 2013 - Race 1, (97.305 mph/60.4535 secs.)

2013 Finish

Defending champion: Will Power

Runner up: Scott Dixon

Pole winner: Helio Castroneves (entrant points, qualifying rained out)

Top 10:

1. Will Power (Start: 9)

2. Scott Dixon (2)

3. James Hinchcliffe (8)

4. Justin Wilson (6)

5. Sebastien Bourdais (13)

6. Simon Pagenaud (3)

7. Oriol Servia (21)

8. Charlie Kimball (10)

9. Mike Conway (16)

10. Simona De Silvestro (17)

Average speed: 78.444 mph

Time of race: 1 hr., 52 mins., 28.9525 secs.

Margin of victory: Under Caution

Caution flags: 9 for 26 laps

Lead changes: 2 among 3 drivers

Past winners

2013 Will Power, Dallara-Chevrolet, 78.444 mph/1:52:28.9525

Last race

Race: Firestone 600 (June 7)

Site: Texas Motor Speedway -- Fort Worth, Texas

Miles: 372 (600 kilometers)

Laps: 248

Finish line order: Ed Carpenter, Will Power, Juan Pablo Montoya, Simon Pagenaud, Scott Dixon

Time of Race: 2 hrs., 1 min., 25.5758 secs.

Average speed: 178.301 mph

Margin of victory: 0.5247 secs.

Caution flags: 3 for 23 laps

Lead changes: 11 among 3 drivers

Lap leaders: Power 1-56; Montoya 57-60; Power 61-99; Montoya 100-102; Power 1-56; Montoya 57-60; Power 61-99; Montoya 100-102; Carpenter 103-125; Power 126-170; Carpenter 171; Montoya 172-177; Power 178-181; Carpenter 182-212; Power 213; Carpenter 214-248.

Entry list

#2 Juan Pablo Montoya (Bogota, Colombia Chevrolet/Team Penske

#3 Helio Castroneves (Sao Paulo, Brazil Chevrolet/Team Penske

#7 Mikhail Aleshin (Moscow, Russia) Honda/Schmidt Peterson Motorsports

#8 Ryan Briscoe (Sydney, Australia) Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing

#9 Scott Dixon (Auckland, New Zealand) Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing

#10 Tony Kanaan (Salvador, Brazil) Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing

#11 Sebastien Bourdais (Le Mans, France) Chevrolet/KVSH Racing

#12 * Will Power (Toowoomba, Australia) Chevrolet/Team Penske

#14 Takuma Sato (Tokyo, Japan) Honda/A.J. Foyt Enterprises

#15 Graham Rahal (New Albany, OH) Honda/Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing

#16 Luca Filippi (Savigliano, Italy) Honda/Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing

#17 Sebastian Saavedra (Bogota, Colombia Chevrolet/KVAFS Racing

#18 Carlos Huertas (Bogota, Colombia) Honda/Dale Coyne Racing

#19 Justin Wilson (Sheffield, England) Honda/Dale Coyne Racing

#20 Mike Conway (Bromley, England) Chevrolet/Ed Carpenter Racing

#25 Marco Andretti (Nazareth, PA) Honda/Andretti Autosport

#27 James Hinchcliffe (Toronto, Canada) Honda/Andretti Autosport

#28 Ryan Hunter-Reay (Ft. Lauderdale, FL Honda/Andretti Autosport

#34 Carlos Munoz (Bogota, Colombia) Honda/Andretti-HVM

#67 Josef Newgarden (Hendersonville, TN) Honda/Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing

#77 Simon Pagenaud (Montmorillon, France Honda/Schmidt Peterson Hamilton

#83 Charlie Kimball (Camarillo, CA) Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing

#99 Jack Hawksworth (Bradford, England) Honda/BHA/BBM

Leading contenders

Name 2013
Will Power Won
Scott Dixon 2
James Hinchcliffe 3
Justin Wilson 4
Sebastien Bourdais 5
Simon Pagenaud 6
Charlie Kimball 8
Mike Conway 9
Sebastian Saavedra 12
Josef Newgarden 13
Takuma Sato 14
Graham Rahal 18
Luca Filippi 19
Marco Andretti 20
Ryan Hunter-Reay 21
Helio Castroneves 23
Tony Kanaan 24
Juan Pablo Montoya ---
Ryan Briscoe ---
Carlos Munoz ---
Jack Hawksworth ---
Carlos Huertas ---
Mikhail Aleshin ---


Race 2 of the Shell Pennzoil Grand Prix of Houston at NRG Park is the tenth event on the 2014 Verizon IndyCar Series schedule.

This will be the second time this season that IndyCar runs two full-distance races at a venue on the same weekend. The Raceway at Belle Isle Park in Detroit hosted the first weekend doubleheader of the year in IndyCar earlier this month. The third and final doubleheader weekend will take place on the streets of Toronto, scheduled for July 19-20.

Last October, the Shell Pennzoil GP of Houston was the first open-wheel race held at NRG Park (then known as Reliant Park). Champ Car competed there from 2006-07. Sebastien Bourdais won both times at this street circuit.

IndyCar moved the weekend doubleheader in Houston from October to June on this year's schedule. In the 2013 doubleheader at this circuit, Scott Dixon won the first race, and Will Power scored the victory in the second event.

CART raced on a a 1.527-mile temporary street circuit in downtown Houston from 1998-2001. Dario Franchitti won the first race. Paul Tracy (1999), Jimmy Vasser (2000) and Gil de Ferran (2001) claimed victories in the other events.

The Shell Pennzoil GP of Houston will be the seventh and eighth races on a road/street course in 2014. The first six events were won by Will Power (St. Petersburg), Mike Conway (Long Beach), Ryan Hunter-Reay (Barber), Simon Pagenaud (Grand Prix of Indianapolis), Power (Belle Isle-1) and Helio Castroneves (Belle Isle-2).

The next race is the July 6 Pocono IndyCar 500 at Pocono Raceway. Scott Dixon won last year's event there.

© 2015
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television