Canadian Tire Series

Fitzpatrick wins NAPA Autopro 100 pole in record time

Press Release
8/17/2012 5:57:41 PM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size
MONTREAL - J.R. Fitzpatrick collected his second pole at Montreal's Circuit Gilles Villeneuve Friday with a record-run during qualifying for Saturday's NAPA Autopro 100.
The Ayr, Ontario, driver covered the 2.709-mile road course in 1 minute, 44.681 seconds for an average speed of 93.163 mph. The lap eclipsed the record Andrew Ranger set last year at 1:44.900 (93.003 mph). It was the ninth career pole for Fitzpatrick, who won the inaugural pole at Montreal in 2007.
Ranger qualified second at 1:44.789 (93.067) and points leader DJ Kennington qualified third at 1:45.371 (92.553).
L.P. Dumoulin and Scott Steckly rounded out the top five.
Robin Buck qualified sixth, followed by Kerry Micks, Trevor Seibert, Austin Dillon and rookie Martin Roy. Dillon, the 2011 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series champion, is currently fourth in the NASCAR Nationwide Series. He is making his series debut as a teammate of Fitzpatrick for this event to gain more road-course experience prior to his Nationwide Series start in Montreal later Saturday.
Austin Dillon and JR Fitzpatrick (Photo: Matt Manor/NASCAR)


(Photo: Matt Manor/NASCAR)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story
© 2017
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television