Canadian Tire Series

NASCAR's Most Popular Driver balloting remains open

Media Release
11/2/2011 2:12:12 PM
Decrease Text SizeIncrease Text Size
Text Size

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla.  - While four of the six NASCAR regional touring series have crowned champions, fans still have a final say in who will win the Most Popular Driver Awards, as balloting remains open for all series through Nov. 20.

While balloting is still open for nearly three more weeks, Most Popular Driver voting has already received a record level of participation in 2011 with more than 109,000 votes cast since balloting opened in mid-July.

Fans still have plenty of opportunities to help their favorite driver extend their lead or help them catch up as they can vote once a day, every day through the deadline.

The tightest races are currently in the NASCAR Canadian Tire Series and the NASCAR Mexico Series presented by Toyota. Jason White holds a slim lead on champion Scott Steckly and DJ Kennington in Canadian Tire Series balloting, while Ruben Rovelo is just ahead of Jorge Arteaga in the Mexico Series race.

Another race that is up for grabs is in the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour, where Jason Myers and L.W. Miller are neck-and-neck.

Justin Bonsignore has surged to a lead over veterans Mike Stefanik and Ted Christopher in NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour balloting. Christopher has garnered the fan vote in each of the three previous seasons.

The largest fan participation has been in the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East where more than 60,000 votes have been cast and Chase Elliott, whose dad Bill won the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Most Popular Driver Award a record 16 times, holds a strong lead on Columbia native Julian Albarracin.

Moses Smith has the third-highest individual vote total among all the touring series and tops the NASCAR K&N Pro Series West ballot as he goes for a fourth straight award.

The balloting is hosted on for each of NASCAR's developmental series – the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East (Twitter hashtag: #KNEast) and West (#KNWest), NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour (#NWMT), NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour (#NWSMT), NASCAR Canadian Tire Series (#NCATS) and NASCAR Mexico Series presented by Toyota (#NCSpxT).

All six Most Popular Driver Award winners will be recognized at the NASCAR Night of Champions Touring Awards Gala on Dec. 10 at the Charlotte (N.C.) Convention Center's Crown Ballroom in the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

Scott Steckly (Photo: NASCAR Canada)


(Photo: NASCAR Canada)
Share This

Share This

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to FarkAdd to TwitterAdd to Stumble UponAdd to Reddit
Print this Story
© 2017
All rights reserved.
Bell Media Television